

March 14, 2013

The Honorable Ron Wyden Chairman Committee on Energy and Natural Resources U.S. Senate SD- 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510-6150

The Honorable Lisa Murkowski Ranking Minority Member Committee on Energy and Natural Resources U.S. Senate SD-304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510-6150

Re: Nomination of Ernest J. Moniz

Dear Chairman Wyden and Ranking Member Murkowski:

On behalf of the National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO), we wanted to take this opportunity to strongly endorse the nomination of Dr. Ernie Moniz to serve as Secretary of the U.S. Department of Energy. We worked closely with Dr. Moniz when he was Under-Secretary of Energy during the Clinton Administration. He is obviously extraordinarily intelligent and is supportive of a balanced national energy policy. He fully understands the important role of research and development, but also demonstration and deployment. Having worked inside an Administration, he is not a novice in the ways of Washington, D.C., and would hit the ground running.

From a state perspective, he has shown a willingness to reach-out and understand the important role of states in advancing energy policy and in opening energy-related economic development opportunities with the private sector. In fact, his work with the private sector shows that he can work with all interested parties in the energy sphere. The work of the MIT Energy Initiative has been very positive. It has contributed to the advancement of energy programs and policies. He has been able to attract significant talent as well as a very strong management team. We would expect that his contributions in Washington, D.C. will be respected on both sides of the aisle, as they were previously. It is important for our country that the Department of Energy have a strong leader. Ernie Moniz fits that bill. We urge the Committee to move quickly and we strongly endorse Dr. Moniz' nomination.

2107 Wilson Boulevard Suite 850 Arlington, Virginia 22201

Telephone: 703.299.8800 Facsimile: 703.299.6208 www.naseo.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Chair

VAUGHN CLARK Oklahoma

Vice Chair

FRANK MURRAY New York

Past Chair

WILLIAM (DUB) TAYLOR

Treasurer

TERRI ADAMS Alabama

Secretary

GINGER WILLSON Nebraska

Parliamentarian

LOUISE MOORE
Montana

Regional Representatives

MARK SYLVIA

MARION GOLD Rhode Island

VERONIQUE MARIER District of Columbia

MONA MOSSER New Jersey

PATRICK SHEEHAN Florida

JOHN DAVIES Kentucky

CHADWICK SMITH

JANET STREFF Minnesota

RYAN FREED Kansas

MICHELE FARRIS South Dakota

STACEY CROWLEY
Nevada

ROBERT BREAN Alaska

Affiliates' Chair

PETER MOLINARO
The Dow Chemical Company

Executive Director

DAVID TERRY

General Counsel

JEFFREY C. GENZER

Managing Director

KATE MARKS

NASEO is composed of the state energy directors from all the states, territories and the District of Columbia. We support a balanced national energy policy.

We look forward to responding to any questions that you may have.

Respectfully submitted,

David Terry Executive Director

cc: State Energy Directors