

Fuels & Grid Integration Committee Meeting September 12, 2016 from 4:00 – 5:30 EST

Meeting Summary

Attendees

Dub Taylor (TX), Co-Chair Chris Yunker (HI), Co-Chair Deana Dennis (EPRI), Affiliates Co-Chair Shannon Graham (ID) Andrew McAllister (CA) Tristan Vance (IN) Leslie Yoo (IN) Asa Hopkins (VT) Jake Fey (WA) Danny Musher (RI) Lisa Smith (ME) Alexa Voytek (TN) Karen Wilson (KY) Kylah McNab (OK) Parker Tinsley (MO) Mary Beth Tung (MD) Sean Skaling (AK) Robert Jackson (MI) Michael Winka (NJ) Maria Redmond (WI) David Bracht (NE) Matthew McCaffree (Comverge)

Dave Anderson (Energy & Policy Institute) Barbara Tyran (EPRI) Carol Werner (EESI) Kellen Schefter (EEI) Jason Smith (EEI) Elissa Richards (National Energy Foundation) Ian Wright (National Energy Foundation) Dan Thoren (AFPM) Jeff Marks (E2Tech) Elizabeth Doris (NREL) Erin Nobler (NREL) Rita Ebert (GLICCC) Evelyn Robinson (PJM) Bob Boonstoppel (Department of Army) Dave Blalock (DOD) Matthew Duncan (DOE) Charlie Myers (DOE) Stephen Goss (NASEO) Jeff Pillon (NASEO) Allice Lippert (NASEO) Maurice Kaya (NASEO) Jeff Genzer (NASEO)

The NASEO Fuels and Grid Integration Committee examines state, regional, and federal initiatives to provide direction for NASEO's projects related to the production, distribution, and consumption of electricity and liquid and gas fuels. This session will include presentations on opportunities and policy implications of distributed energy resource deployment and insight into innovative federal fuel and grid modernization program initiatives.

Introductions and Committee Overview

- Dub Taylor, Director, Texas State Energy Conservation Office; Treasurer, NASEO Board of Directors; Co-Chair, NASEO Fuels and Grid Integration Committee
- Chris Yunker, Energy Systems and Planning Program Manager, Hawaii State Energy Office; Co-Chair, NASEO Fuels and Grid Integration Committee
- Deana Dennis, Senior Manager, External and Government Affairs, Electric Power Research Institute; Affiliates Co-Chair, NASEO Fuels and Grid Integration Committee

Distribute Energy Resource Deployment Potential and Policy Implications

- <u>Presentation</u> Chris Cook, Principal, Solar Grid Storage
- <u>Presentation</u> Ari Peskoe, Senior Fellow in Electricity Law, Harvard Environmental Policy Initiative, Harvard Law School
- <u>Presentation</u> Ashley Brown, Executive Director, Harvard Electricity Policy Group, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University Presentation
- Ben Sigrin, Senior Engineer, Strategic Energy Analysis Center, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Massachusetts Energy Storage Initiative

• <u>Presentation</u> – Joanne Morin, Deputy Commissioner, Energy Policy, Planning, and Analysis, Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources

Federal Fuel and Grid Integration Plicy and Program Initiatives

• <u>Presentation</u> – Caitlin Callaghan, Chemical Engineer, Transmission Permitting and Technical Assistance Division, Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability, U.S. Department of Energy