

Fuels & Grid Integration Committee Meeting February 9, 2017 from 2:30 – 4:30 EST

Meeting Summary

Attendees

Chris Yunker (HI), Co-Chair Deana Dennis (EPRI), Affiliates Co-Chair Matt Tuma (NV) Jessica Burdette (MN) Adam Zoet (MN) Megan Meadows (OH) Michele Farris (SD) Dave Althoff (PA) Kerry Campbell (PA) Daren Zigich (NM) Michael Furze (WA) Ben Cowart (GA) Andy Popp (MO) Paul Miller (LA) Andrea Pfennig (ND) Jay Lucey (CONEG) Toni Paul (BCS) Gary Garrett (SSEB)

Bob Kuzman (MISO) Ryan Freed (IMT) Asa Hopkins (Synapse Energy Economics) Jan Brinch (NARUC) Christine Tezak (Clearview) David Townley (CTC Global) Rob Viera (Florida Solar Energy Center) Dan Lauf (NGA) Erin Hiatt (RILA) Stacey Angel (EIA) Aurora Edington (DOE) Venkat Venkataraman (DOE) Hugh Chen (DOE) Thomas Pearce (DOE) Kate Marks (DOE) Lindsey Griffith (DOE) Stephen Goss (NASEO) Fred Hoover (NASEO)

The NASEO Fuels and Grid Integration Committee examines state, regional, and federal initiatives to provide direction for NASEO's projects related to the production, distribution, and consumption of electricity and liquid and gas fuels. During this meeting, members will learn how changing electricity markets are impacting conventional energy policy and program design and explore opportunities for State Energy Office engagement and intervention in utility proceedings.

Introductions and Committee Overview

- Dub Taylor, Director, Texas State Energy Conservation Office; Treasurer, NASEO Board of Directors; Co-Chair, NASEO Fuels and Grid Integration Committee
- Chris Yunker, Energy Systems and Planning Program Manager, Hawaii State Energy Office; Co-Chair, NASEO Fuels and Grid Integration Committee
- Deana Dennis, Senior Manager, External and Government Affairs, Electric Power Research Institute; Affiliates Co-Chair, NASEO Fuels and Grid Integration Committee

Opportunities for States with CCS Projects with the Office of Fossil Energy

• Sarah Forbes, Staff Scientist, Office of Strategic Planning and Engagement, Office of Fossil Energy, U.S. Department of Energy

State Consumer Advocates Partner with Energy Offices in Making Energy Policy

• David Springe, Executive Director, National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates

PJM's Outlook for Electricity Resource Demand

• Evelyn Robinson, Managing Partner, PJM Interconnection

National Council on Electricity Policy: Cooperative Research on Energy Policy for the States

• John Chapburn, Administrator, Idaho Office of Energy Resources; Member, National Council on Electricity Policy

Report on the Quadrennial Energy Review 1.2: Future of the Nation's Energy System

• Carol Battershell, Principal Deputy Director, Office of Energy Policy and System Analysis, U.S. Department of Energy