The “3-N” Present Complying With the Clean Power Plan: How State Agencies Are Working Together

February 11-12, 2016 - Fairmont Hotel, Washington, DC

Participants List

Thursday, February 11, 2016

1:15 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.

  • Janet Streff, Manager, State Energy Office, Minnesota Department of Commerce; Chair, NASEO
  • Jack Betkoski, Commissioner, Connecticut Public Utility Regulatory Authority; NARUC
  • Ursula Nelson, Director, Pima County Department of Environmental Quality; Co-President, NACAA

 1:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Regional Issues and Discussion – Perspectives and Lessons Learned

1:30 p.m. – 2:15 p.m.
Southeastern States

Moderator:  Molly Cripps, Director, Tennessee Office of Energy Programs; Secretary, NASEO Board of Directors


  • Mike Dowd, Director, Air Division, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
  • Sarah Adair, Senior Policy Associate, Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions at Duke University

2:15 p.m. – 3:15 p.m.
Western States

Moderator: Bill Ritter, Former Governor, State of Colorado; Founder and Director, Center for the New Energy Economy at Colorado State University


  • Laura Anderson, Bureau Chief, Montana Energy Office
  • Al Minier, Chairman, Wyoming Public Service Commission
  • Jessica Shipley, Senior Policy Analyst, Oregon Department of Energy

3:15 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.    

3:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. 
Keynote Address

  • Gina McCarthy, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Mid-Western States                                         

Moderator: Robert Jackson, Director, Regional/National Response Division, Michigan Agency for Energy; Vice Chair, NASEO


  • David Thornton, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
  • Franz Litz, Program Consultant, Great Plains Institute
  • Ann McCabe, Commissioner, Illinois Commerce Commission

5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Northeastern States

Moderator: Katie Dykes, Deputy Commissioner for Energy, Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection; Chair, RGGI


  • Ali Mirzakhalili, Director, Division of Air Quality, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
  • Joanne Morin, Deputy Commissioner, Energy Policy, Planning and Analysis, Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources
  • Jack Betkoski, Commissioner, Connecticut Public Utility Commission

6:00 p.m.   

6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Friday, February 12, 2016

8:00 a.m. – 8:15 a.m.
How the Day Will Go

  • Bill Becker, Executive Director, NACAA

8:15 a.m. – 9: 15 a.m. 
Inter-agency Coordination: Who is Responsible for What and How Can We Best Work Together?

Moderator: Phil Jones, Commissioner, Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission; Past President, NARUC


  • Jessica Burdette, Conservation Improvement Program Supervisor, State Energy Office, Minnesota Department of Commerce
  • Stuart Spencer, Associate Director, Office of Air Quality, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality

9:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Rate vs. Mass: Which Approach Best Meets States’ Needs?

Moderator: Franz Litz - Presentation, Program Consultant, Great Plains Institute


  • Bill O’Sullivan - Presentation, Air and Energy Advisor, Air Quality, Energy and Sustainability Program, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
  • Jaimeson Sinclair - Presentation, Assistant Director, Engineering and Enforcement Division, Connecticut Bureau of Air Management

10:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.

10:15 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.
Energy Efficiency: How Can EE Be Used to Meet Compliance Targets and Clean Energy Incentive Program Considerations?

Moderator: Rodney Sobin - Presentation, Senior Program Director, NASEO


  • Nancy Seidman, Assistant Commissioner, Bureau of Air and Waste, Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection
  • Jessica Shipley, Senior Policy Analyst, Oregon Department of Energy

11:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.  
Affordability, Cost Containment, and Economic Development

Moderator: Molly Lunn, Deputy Director, Office of Energy and Recycling, Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity


  • Marissa Gillett - Presentation, Advisor to the Chairman, Maryland Public Service Commission
  • Sue Tierney, Senior Advisor, Analysis Group, Inc.

12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.  

1:00 p.m. – 1:45 p.m.  
Reliability: How Do We Ensure the Lights Stay On?

Moderator: Betty Ann Kane, Chairman, Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia


  • David Boyd, Vice President of Government and Regulatory Affairs, Midcontinent Independent System Operator, Inc.
  • Sue Kelly, President and Chief Executive Officer, American Public Power Association

1:45 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.  
Allocation Approaches: How Will States Distribute Allowances? How Will Emission Rate Credits Work?

Moderator:  Phil Assmus, Senior Staff Associate, NACAA


  • Dallas Burtraw - Presentation, Darius Gaskins Senior Fellow, Resources for the Future
  • Jennifer Macedonia - Presentation, Senior Advisor, Bipartisan Policy Center

2:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Next Steps: What Did We Learn Today and How Will We Follow Up?


  • Bill Becker, Executive Director, NACAA
  • David Terry, Executive Director, NASEO
  • Greg White, Executive Director, NARUC

3:30 p.m.