Texas State Energy Director, Dub Taylor, Honored for Work in Advancing Energy Efficiency

Dub Taylor, director of the Texas Comptroller's State Energy Conservation Office (SECO), was recently honored for his contributions to environmental protection through energy-efficiency and clean-energy programs. Mr. Taylor also serves as Treasurer for NASEO's Board of Directors.

Taylor, director of SECO since 1999, received the 2017 Gregg Cooke Award for Excellence in Environmental Leadership at the Texas Energy Summit, which wrapped up Nov. 15 in Plano. This award recognizes community service and advocacy dedicated to advancing energy efficiency, renewable energy and sustainability while creating economic opportunity and cleaner air. Gregg Cooke was a former Environmental Protection Agency administrator who died in 2006.

“I can’t think of a more deserving recipient for the Gregg Cooke Award than Dub Taylor,” said Texas Comptroller Glenn Hegar. “As SECO director, Dub leads programs that serve as models for championing energy efficiency while still maintaining the type of fiscal responsibility that is a hallmark of the Comptroller’s office. Under Dub’s leadership, SECO has proven energy efficiency and economic opportunity can not only coexist, but also truly serve both Texas taxpayers and the natural resources of our great state.”

SECO partners with Texas local governments, public schools, public institutions of higher education and state agencies to reduce utility costs and maximize efficiency. SECO also adopts energy codes for single-family residential, commercial and state-funded buildings. Visit the Comptroller’s website for more information about SECO.

The Texas Energy Summit is an annual education conference hosted by Texas A&M that allows attendees to engage in discussions about cleaner air, environmental protection and a new energy economy.