Governor Murphy Directs New Jersey to Rejoin the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative

On January 29, 2018, Governor Phil Murphy signed Executive Order No. 7 directing the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection and the Bureau of Public Utilities to begin the process of reentering the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI).

RGGI is a cooperative effort among Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont to cap and reduce carbon dioxide emissions from the power sector via a market-based program of tradeable emission allowances.

New Jersey was previously a RGGI partner but withdrew in 2012 under Gov. Chris Christie. In directing the state’s re-entry into the regional agreement, Gov. Murphy cited forgone opportunities to invest in improving New Jersey’s energy efficiency and air quality as well as a desire to place the state as a “green economy” leader.  The Governor also pointed to Superstorm Sandy’s devastating impacts and the need to address climate issues.

Gov. Murphy’s news release and the text of Executive Order No. 7 are here.