NASEO and NARUC Release State Solar Cybersecurity Toolkit

For Immediate Release

Media Contacts:
Cassie Powers, NASEO, 571-867-9843,  
NARUC Communications, 202-898-9382,


Washington, DC (September 29, 2023) — The National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO) and the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC), with support from the U.S. Department of Energy Solar Energy Technologies Office (SETO) announced their release of the Cybersecurity Advisory Team for State Solar (CATSS) Toolkit. The CATSS Toolkit provides State Energy Offices and Public Utility Commissions with actionable information on cybersecurity for solar power and supports state cybersecurity enhancements for solar and other Distributed Energy Resources (DER).

The  CATSS Advisory Group leveraged state, federal and private-sector expertise on cybersecurity, the electric grid, solar power, and other DERs to identify and inform model solar cybersecurity actions for states to take in partnership with utilities and the solar industry. The CATSS toolkit includes ten tools across two areas of focus.

Education and Risk Awareness

  • Photovoltaic Solar Engineering and System Overview
  • Standards Quick Guide
  • Assessing Solar Cybersecurity: Questions for States to Ask Electricity Utilities
  • Hypothetical Solar Cyberattack Scenarios and Impacts

Practical Actions

  • Decision Support Tool for Solar Energy Cybersecurity Policy and Regulations
  • Case Studies and Model Guidance for Establishing Solar Cybersecurity Working Groups
  • Cybersecurity and the Solar Workforce: Considerations for States
  • Cybersecurity Considerations for State Procurement of Solar Assets
  • Exercise Design Guidance for Solar Cybersecurity
  • State Legislative Options to Enhance Solar Cybersecurity

The CATSS tools are foundational resources for State Energy Offices and Public Utility Commissions seeking to mitigate cybersecurity risks. “As the leaders in state energy policy and program development in support of their governors’ and legislators’ cybersecurity and DER goals, State Energy Offices are increasingly engaged in cybersecurity actions,” said David Terry, President of NASEO. “This toolkit will help states achieve their energy and resilience goals by creating more cyber-secure distributed energy resources.”

“Cybersecurity remains a high priority for NARUC, as state regulation methods continue to adapt to a more digital society,” said NARUC Executive Director Greg White. “New cybersecurity resources for solar and DERs are welcome additions that help PUCs confidently navigate the ever-changing energy landscape.”

Prior to the NASEO-NARUC CATSS project, most cybersecurity mitigation efforts and technologies have focused on conventional electric-sector assets. Given the significant growth of solar and other DERs, and the increasing reliance on solar to support the resilience of critical facilities, it is prudent to bring greater attention to DER cybersecurity.

For more information about the CATSS Toolkit, please visit the NASEO CATSS webpage or contact Kirsten Verclas, NASEO Senior Managing Director for Electricity and Energy Security ( or Lynn Costantini, NARUC Center for Partnerships and Innovation Deputy Director (


NASEO is the only national non-profit association for the governor-designated energy Directors and their offices from each of the 56 states, territories, and District of Columbia. Formed by the states in 1986, NASEO facilitates peer learning among state energy offices, serves as a resource for and about State Energy Offices, and advocates the interests of the State Energy Offices to Congress and federal agencies on all energy issues.

NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC’s member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of state public utility commissions before the three branches of the federal government.