NASEO is the only national non-profit association for the governor-designated energy officials from each of the 56 states and territories. Formed by the states in 1986, NASEO facilitates peer learning among state energy officials, serves as a resource for and about state energy offices, and advocates the interests of the state energy offices to Congress and federal agencies.

About the State Energy Offices

The State and Territory Energy Offices (SEOs) were formed in response to the energy crisis of the early 1970s.  SEOs are important agents of change that:

  • Advance practical energy policies and support energy technology research, demonstration, and deployment.
  • Partner with the private sector to accelerate energy-related economic development and enhance environmental quality.
  • Focus on energy efficiency and renewable energy programs, transportation fuel diversity, and traditional fuel development.
  • Allocate or oversee more than $7 billion of funds derived from ratepayers and state appropriations annually.
  • Aid in emergency response and mitigation related to energy infrastructure, liquid fuels, and cyber security.

Organizational Documents